Facebook profile picture

Annwn (D)



Annwn is a German mystic medieval folk band from Mainz, Erkrath. In 2016 they come to us with their third album entitled „Enaid”. The album contains 13 tracks. Every of them is a real jewel.
The clear warm vocal of Sabine Hornung is amazing and it creates a unique, some kind of calm and private ambience. Tradional instruments add oneness to the entire album. You can listen here harp, accordion, flutes, violin, nyckelharpa, guitar, cister and oud percussion.
You can find here songs that are taken from folklore and history of music of various nationalities.

The first track „Des oge mais quér’ éu trobar” is a song written by Alfonso X, the 13th century king of Leon, Galicia and Castile. This song belongs to “Cantigas de Santa Maria” as well as another song of Annwn from their album “Aeon”- “Rosa Das Rosas”
The second one – „Bonny Portmore” is an Irish traditional song, which laments the demise of Ireland’s old oak forests. It has typical for Irish folk sound and climate. You really feel as if you were among this oaks.
„The South Wind” derives also from the Celtic folklore heritage and it’s a really beautiful romantic melody.
„Adio Querida” is a Sephardic love song. Annwn add to it their delicacy and a little bit of spicy by the vocals.
„An Dro Medar” is a Breton folk dance which was also recorded by Faun or Eluveitie. And to be honest the one by Eluveitie is the best.
„Je Vivroie Liement” is the 14th century French song written by Guillaume de Machaut. The band did here something very original, because they „imposed” their music onto the original version. It is very imaginative and surprising idea.
„Vem Kan Segla” is the track inspired by „Vem kan segla förutan vind?”. It is a folk song known from Finnish Swedish settlements and it is considered that it comes from Åland. Here Annwn have done better version. The track is full of sorrow and dolor, there are real emotions.
„Lost in time” is the most gentle track on the entire album. It delights with musical lightness lyricism and sometimes sadness. The next track „Passacaglia Della Vita” was composed by an Itialian composer Stefano Landi, who lived at the turn of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The lyrics are about love, pain and live.
„Era Escuro” was initially performed by Ana Alcaide on the album “Como la luna y la sol” which was dedicated to Sephardic music. Unfortunately a version by Annwn is not that good as Ana`s
„King of the Fairies” (in Irish „Ri Na Sidheog”) is a classical Irish folk song from the 18th century performed by many artists like Waylander or Alan Stivell. It is the most enchanted track of Annwn. It’s full of joy and hope.
“Tri Martolod” („Three Sailors” in Bretan) is a traditional Breton song which dates back to the 18th century in Brittany. This melody is well-known due to Breton harpist Alan Stivell. But it was also an inspiration for many others, for example „La Tribu De Dana” by French band Manau or the most famous „Inis Mona” by Eluveitie. And here we have another great, more traditional implementation.
The last track „A Madre De Jhesu-Cristo” is more like choir music. The voice of Sabine is perfect for a such melodies.
The songs pass harmoniously one after another, creating a deliberate oneness nevertheless many different places they derive from . Each song has its own story and is stunningly performed. That is a good album, which shows us the way Annwn themselves see history of music. Annwn – thanks for this.


Annwn ist eine deutsche Mittelalter- und Pagan-Folk-Band aus Nordrhein-Westfalen, die ursprünglich als Duo mit Gastmusikern gegründet wurde.


Die Band wurde 2006 von Sabine Hornung und Tobias von Schmude gegründet. Abgeleitet ist der Bandname von Annwn - der Anderswelt in der inselkeltischen Mythologie. Ein Jahr später erschien ihr erstes Album Orbis Alia. Nachdem anfangs Gastmusiker wie Jule Bauer an der Nyckelharpa und Rahmentrommel, Reiner Jungmann an der Drehleier und Sarah Freywald an den Flöten tätig waren, wurden für das zweite Album neue Musiker für eine feste Besetzung gewonnen. Dazu gehören: Barbara (Cello), Eva (Violine, Bratsche), Christoph Kammer (Perkussion, Violone, Cister, Gesang), Chrissy (Flöten) und Dirk Freyer, der die Gruppe bei ihrem elektrischen Bühnenprogramm mit Orchester- und Chorsamples unterstützt.

2014 schied Tobias von Schmude aus der Band aus und die Band formierte sich neu. Es kamen Bettina Witzel (Flöten, Gemshorn), Jonas Liesenfeld (Geige, Nyckelharpa, Gesang), Anne Höltzenbein (Drehleier, Geige, Saz, Gesang), Arne Harder (Guitarrón, Barocklaute, Cister, Oud, Gesang) und Anja Herrmann (Perkussion, Gesang) dazu.