Facebook profile picture

Crisis (GB)



Crisis are a British punk rock band formed in 1976 in Guildford in Surrey. They performed at rallies for Rock Against Racism and the Anti-Nazi League, and at Right to Work
marches. British music magazine Sounds used the phrase "Music to March To" to describe their distinctly edgy, controversial and far left form of punk rock.


Formation and career

Crisis formed in 1976 with the lineup of Phrazer (vocals), Lester Jones (lead guitar), Douglas Pearce (guitar), Tony Wakeford (bass) and Insect Robin the Cleaner (drums).

Their debut single, "No Town Hall", was released in 1978 on Action Group Records.

On 11 January 1978, Crisis recorded four tracks at a Peel Session for BBC Radio 1, with two of the tracks released as the "UK 79" 7" single in 1979 on the Ardkor label. The remaining two Peel Session songs were posthumously issued by Ardkor in 1981 as "Alienation".

In early 1979, the band underwent a major change in personnel when Phrazer and Insect Robin the Cleaner were replaced by Dexter (a longtime fan and roadie) and Luke Rendle. After performing their last show, supporting Magazine and Bauhaus in their hometown of Guildford on 10 May 1980, the band broke up. A recording of the final show was released in 2008 as the Ends! CD.

Later projects

Pearce and Wakeford went on to form Death in June in 1981. Wakeford later formed the Runners from 84, Above the Ruins and Sol Invictus. Rendle joined the Straps, then the Pack/Theatre of Hate. Jones formed Carcrash International. In 1985, Jones also performed as a touring member of Andi Sex Gang & the Quick Gas Gang.

In 2015, Wakeford formed an ensemble with members of Alternative TV, titled 1984, to perform the songs he had written for both Crisis and Death in June.


The Crisis discography has been compiled on a single CD twice (as We Are All Jews and Germans in 1997 by World Serpent, and as Holocaust Hymns in 2005 by Apop Records), as well as twice on vinyl LP (as The Guilty Have a Past - Singles & Demos 1977-1979 in 2004 by State Laughter Records, and Kollectiv in 2014 by La Vida Es un Mus).


After almost 40 years of inactivity, Crisis officially reformed in 2017, and announced concerts in the UK and Europe in 2017 and 2018. The new lineup consists of original member Wakeford on bass, Lloyd James (of Naevus) on vocals, Clive Giblin (of Alternative TV) on guitar and Igor Olejar (of Autorotation) on drums.


Crisis war eine britische Punkband, die in den späten 1970er Jahren gegründet wurde (in den 1970er Jahren behauptete Rhythmusgitarrist Douglas Pearce, den Bassisten Tony Wakeford zur Gründung der Band animiert zu haben, in einem Interview von 2006 jedoch das Gegenteil) und oftmals auf Rock-Against-Racism-Veranstaltungen auftrat und dem Sozialismus nahestand. Pearce bezeichnete die Band sowohl als trotzkistisch als auch als Mischung aus Sozialisten, Kommunisten und Pazifisten. Ihre Texte waren politisch geprägt und richteten sich gegen die britische Regierung sowie den Nationalsozialismus. Crisis wurde sogar als „rotfaschistisch“ bezeichnet. Der Stil der Band wird von deathrock.com als rhythmisch, strukturiert und poetisch bezeichnet und mit dem von Bands wie Warsaw, UK Decay, The Royal Family und einigen Bands aus dem Umfeld des Labels Crass Records verglichen. Auf einen Vergleich mit der Band Crass („[Crass and Crisis] both signaled the end of punk as fun, spontaneity, massiveness and anarchy (as a way of feeling). In this new 'new wave' of punk, punk was seen as a tool of protest…“) angesprochen, äußerte Pearce, mit Crass nicht in Verbindung gestanden und sie zu Crisis-Zeiten nicht gekannt zu haben, und drehte eine Aussage aus dem Crass-Lied „Do They Owe Us a Living?“ um: „"Do they owe us a living?" Of course they fucking DON'T!“

Die Band löste sich 1980 auf. Pearce und Wakeford, die daraufhin zusammen mit Patrick Leagas die umstrittene Band Death in June, die das noch zu Crisis-Zeiten von ihnen geschriebene Stück „All Alone in Her Nirvana“ in ihr Repertoire übernahm, gründeten, gaben als Grund an, von der Linken enttäuscht zu sein („Death In June war unsere Reaktion auf die Art und Weise, wie die Linke uns behandelt hatte“ - Pearce). Der Sound von Death in June war anfänglich im Post-Punk verankert, später wurde die Band zum Vorreiter des Neofolk. Nachdem Wakeford Death in June 1983 verließ, gründete er Above the Ruins und nach deren Auflösung Sol Invictus. Schlagzeuger Luke Rendall spielte nach dem Ende von Crisis zusammen mit Kirk Brandon von The Pack bei Theatre of Hate. Leadgitarrist Lester Jones gründete mit einigen Mitgliedern der Band Sex Gang Children Carcrash International. Pearce gab in einem Interview an, mit Ausnahme von Wakeford mit niemandem aus seiner Zeit in der Punkszene mehr in Kontakt zu stehen.

2005 erschien die CD „Holocaust Hymns“, die sämtliche Veröffentlichungen der Band in neu gemasterter Fassung sowie ein zwölfseitiges Booklet mit exklusiven Fotos aus Douglas Pearces privaten Archiven enthält, als Jewelcase.